Government of Yukon

January 12, 2018

Government of Yukon and Teslin Tlingit Council sign intergovernmental agreement to work together on shared priorities

Joint news release

Today, Premier Sandy Silver and Teslin Tlingit Council Naa Sháade Háni Richard Sidney met in Teslin to sign an intergovernmental agreement.

The agreement will help the governments successfully facilitate economic, social, cultural and development initiatives. It will also enhance government-to-government collaboration and reconciliation by outlining shared priorities and creating a plan to address these matters together.

The governments can now move forward on key areas and develop practical ways of working together on shared priorities including education, fish and wildlife, economic development and tourism.


“Our goal with this agreement is to work together cooperatively and effectively to enhance social, economic and cultural development and realize the spirit and intent of the Teslin Tlingit Council Final and Self-Government Agreements. This intergovernmental agreement recognizes the common interests of our governments and paves the way for closer collaboration.”

–Yukon Premier Sandy Silver

“The Teslin Tlingit Council is pleased to sign this agreement on behalf of its citizens. This agreement represents the dedication we share in developing strong relationships, opportunities and working collaboratively between governments. We can now focus on achieving our mutual goals ”

–Teslin Tlingit Council Naa Sháade Háni Richard Sidney

Quick facts

  • The bilateral agreement is between the Government of Yukon and the Teslin Tlingit Council.
  • The agreement tasks officials from each government with making progress on the shared priorities outlined in the agreement.
  • Under the intergovernmental agreement, the Premier and Naa Sháade Háni will have annual meetings to discuss progress made on their governments’ shared priorities.

Learn more:
Teslin Tlingit Council Intergovernmental Agreement with the Government of Yukon
Agreements with First Nations


Sunny Patch
Cabinet Communications

Shari-Lynn MacLellan
Communications, Executive Council Office

Jade McGinty
Teslin Tlingit Council
Communications Coordinator
867-390-2532 extension 306

News Release #18-005