Government of Yukon

December 1, 2017

Aboriginal public servants recognized for excellence

The outstanding public service of four Aboriginal employees was formally recognized today at the annual Government of Yukon Aboriginal Employee Forum. Premier Sandy Silver awarded Shirley Dawson, Jayla Rousseau-Thomas and Elaine Moses with the Aboriginal Employee Award of Honour. A posthumous award was accepted by Cheryl Charlie on behalf of Jay Greenaway.

The Government of Yukon’s Aboriginal Employees Forum (AEF) is celebrating its 10th anniversary this year. The Aboriginal Employees Award of Honour recognizes accomplishments of Aboriginal public servants who make exceptional contributions and provide excellent service to the Yukon public and their fellow employees.


“This award is an opportunity for us to celebrate the outstanding work of Aboriginal employees in the Government of Yukon. The individuals recognized today have shown remarkable leadership and dedication to the public service.”

–Premier Sandy Silver

“Thank you to all of the nominees for the valuable contribution that you make to our workplace. Your commitment and dedication are an inspiration for all Government of Yukon employees.”

–Minister Responsible for the Public Service Commission Richard Mostyn

Quick facts 

  • Since the inception of the Aboriginal Employee Award of Honour in 2009, there have been 97 nominees and 24 recipients including one special recognition award.
  • The Aboriginal Employees Forum supports Aboriginal employees and strives to improve the workplace environment by organizing professional development opportunities, cultural programming and initiatives such as Rock Your Mocs.

Learn more: Aboriginal Employees Award of Honour


Sunny Patch
Cabinet Communications

Nigel Allan
Communications, Public Service Commission

News Release #17-259