Government of Yukon

September 21, 2017

Government of Yukon appoints new chair of the Water Board

The Government of Yukon has appointed Piers McDonald as the chair of the Water Board. Mr. McDonald has accepted the position, effective today.

Piers McDonald brings a wealth of experience to this position. He has served as chair of Northern Vision Development and has extensive leadership experience from his work as a businessperson, miner and politician.


“I would like to welcome Piers McDonald to the Water Board, and I am very pleased that he has accepted this position. His breadth of experience will certainly serve the Water Board well. I would also like to thank Greg Komaromi, who has acted as the chair for the last several months, for his service.”

–Premier Sandy Silver

“I am looking forward to taking on this new position of chair of the Water Board and helping to ensure that the Water Board runs as efficiently as possible.”

–Water Board chair Piers McDonald

Quick facts

  • Former chair of the Yukon Water Board Loralee Johnstone resigned in May 2017 for personal reasons.
  • The board currently consists of nine cabinet-appointed members. The role of chair is appointed by the premier.
  • The chairperson of the Yukon Water Board liaises with board members, facilitates board meetings, and provides important leadership to the board as they work through licensing decisions regarding the use of water and the deposit of waste.
  • The Water Board’s mandate is to provide for the conservation, development and utilization of waters for the benefits of all Canadians and Yukoners in particular.

Learn more: Yukon Water Board


Sunny Patch
Cabinet Communications

Kendra Black
Communications, Executive Council Office

News Release #17-189