Government of Yukon

May 17, 2017

Statement from the premier in response to the resignation of the Yukon Water Board chair

The premier has issued the following statement regarding the resignation of Yukon Water Board chairperson Loralee Johnstone. The resignation is effective end of day May 26, 2017.

“I would like to thank Loralee for her service to the Yukon Water Board. In particular, I would like to recognize her leadership and hard work on the Mine Licensing Improvement Initiatives, and thank her for advocating for a more effective and efficient approach to regulation of mining projects. I understand that Loralee has other professional opportunities that she wishes to pursue, and I wish her all the best in her future endeavours.

“The Yukon government plans on filling the board vacancy and will work to appoint a new chair as soon as practical.”

–Premier Sandy Silver

Quick facts

  • Loralee Johnstone has served as the chairperson since December 11, 2015.
  • The chairperson of the Yukon Water Board liaises with board members, facilitates board meetings, and provides important leadership to the board as they work through licensing decisions regarding the use of water and the depositing of waste.
  • The Water Board’s mandate is to provide for the conservation, development and utilization of waters for the benefits of all Canadians, and Yukoners in particular.
  • The board currently consists of nine Cabinet-appointed members. The role of chair is appointed by the premier.

Learn more: Yukon Water Board


Sunny Patch
Cabinet Communications

Kara Johancsik
Communications, Executive Council Office


News Release #17-104