Government of Yukon

September 19, 2016

Premier presents Council of the Federation Literacy Award

WHITEHORSE—Premier Darrell Pasloski today presented Audrey Lougheed with the 2016 Council of the Federation Literacy Award.

“On behalf of Canada’s premiers and the Government of Yukon, I extend heartfelt congratulations and thanks to Ms. Lougheed,” Pasloski said. “It is an honour to recognize her lifelong commitment to literacy and her work to improve the lives of Yukoners.”

The award has been presented annually since 2004 to recipients from all 13 provinces and territories to celebrate outstanding achievement, innovative practice and excellence in literacy. It recognizes the importance of literacy to citizens’ participation in all areas of society, and celebrates individual Canadians’ valuable contributions to literacy.

“Literacy is the foundation for lifelong learning, opportunity and social development,” Minister of Education Doug Graham said. “Ms. Lougheed’s devotion to promoting literacy has touched countless lives over the decades, and Yukon is a better place because of her work.”

In 1983, Lougheed helped found the Yukon Literacy Council, which is now the Yukon Learn Society. She also held various positions on the society’s board of directors for more than 12 years. Over the past 33 years she also provided one-on-one tutoring services in adult literacy and for English as a Second Language learners.

The Council of the Federation announced this year’s recipients from all of Canada’s provinces and territories on September 8, in honour of International Literacy Day.

The Council of the Federation comprises all 13 provincial and territorial premiers. It enables premiers to work collaboratively, form closer ties, foster constructive relationships among governments and show leadership on important issues that matter to Canadians.

Premier Pasloski is currently the Council of the Federation chair. Yukon hosted the annual summer meeting of Canada’s Premiers in Whitehorse in July.

Learn more: Council of the Federation



Michael Edwards
Cabinet Communications

Michele Royle
Communications, Education


News Release #16-322