Government of Yukon

September 1, 2016

Government of Yukon and Yukon Lottery Commission sign new governance agreement

WHITEHORSE—The Minister responsible for the Yukon Lottery Commission Stacey Hassard and Yukon Lottery Commission chair and chief executive officer Heather Campbell signed a new agreement yesterday that strengthens the governance of lotteries in Yukon.

“This agreement addresses our commitment to clarify the governance of lotteries by establishing a sound framework that clearly describes the commission’s relationship to government,” Hassard said.

The agreement provides detailed descriptions of the roles and responsibilities of key players involved in lotteries: the minister; the Yukon Lottery Commission chair and CEO; and the Yukon Liquor Corporation president, who also serves as the commission’s secretary. In addition, the agreement outlines the commission’s accountability framework and provides for better-coordinated planning between the parties.

“The governance agreement not only improves upon our partnership with the Yukon government, it also contributes to the commission’s management and accountability framework ensuring Yukoners derive maximum benefit from lottery proceeds,” Campbell said.

A creation of the Public Lotteries Act, the commission is responsible for the conduct and management of inter-jurisdictional lotteries in Yukon based on an agreement with the Western Canada Lottery Corporation.

The Yukon Lottery Commission has eight board-appointed members who set the direction for the commission and inter-jurisdictional lottery matters. Using profits derived from lottery revenue, the commission invests an average of $2 million per year in community-based initiatives related to arts, sport and recreation.

Learn more:
Governance agreement and Yukon Lottery Commission programs



Michael Edwards
Cabinet Communications

Heather Campbell
Chair and CEO
Yukon Lottery Commission


News Release #16-308