Government of Yukon

August 22, 2016

Yukon Geological Survey's Maurice Colpron wins national award

WHITEHORSE—Maurice Colpron, head of Bedrock Geology with the Yukon Geological Survey (YGS), is Yukon’s first recipient of the Provincial and Territorial Geologists Medal.

“Maurice is very deserving of this medal in recognition of his exceptional contributions to Canadian geology,” Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources Scott Kent said. “We are very fortunate to have Maurice’s vast experience and expertise at the Yukon Geological Survey.”

Colpron received the national award today at the Energy and Mines Ministers’ Conference in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

“It is a great honour to receive this medal. Such recognition is only possible through the support I have received from my supervisors and colleagues over my years at the Yukon Geological Survey, and from my previous experiences with the B.C., N.W.T. and Québec surveys,” Colpron said.

The medal recognizes major contributions in the areas of geoscience research and related applications that serve to meet the mandates of Canadian geological surveys.

“Maurice is a leader in tectonic and metallogenetic studies of the North American Cordillera,” Yukon Geological Survey director Carolyn Relf said. “He’s highly respected by his colleagues at the YGS for his devotion and willingness to share his knowledge.”

The Provincial and Territorial Geologists Medal has been awarded annually since 1999 by the Committee of Provincial and Territorial Geologists to geoscientists who have produced outstanding work at one of Canada's provincial or territorial geological surveys. Each survey in Canada may nominate a candidate, and winners are selected by a three-person committee with members from academia, industry, and the Geological Survey of Canada.

Learn more:
Provincial and Territorial Geologists Medal
Yukon Geological Survey 



Michael Edwards
Cabinet Communications

Sue Thomas
Communications, Energy, Mines and Resources

News Release #16-296