Government of Yukon

July 4, 2016

Ten Yukon artists receive Advanced Artist Award

WHITEHORSE—Ten Yukon artists are the recipients of Government of Yukon funding to support their professional development in music, dance, writing and visual arts.

“We are very fortunate that Yukon is home to an outstanding array of talented and highly skilled creative individuals,” Minister of Tourism and Culture Elaine Taylor said. “The Government of Yukon is proud to support the personal artistic development of established artists who contribute so much to our community and beyond.”

The Advanced Artist Award helps individual, senior-level Yukon artists to participate in innovative projects, travel or educational pursuits. Each year, $150,000 is available through two annual submission periods. The spring 2016 intake awarded a total of $75,000 to 10 Yukon artists.

Whitehorse-based visual artist Simon Gilpin will use his $7,527 award to create a new body of work and experiment with new techniques and materials.

"It is invaluable to any artist when their skills and role in society are recognized, especially when that recognition comes from their peers. I look forward to the freedom to express my creativity that this award will allow," Gilpin said.

Daniel Ashley is a rapper, vocalist and electronic music producer. He is receiving $6,671 to study electronic music production and studio recording techniques at the online Warp Academy, in addition to completing six new original songs.

“I am always looking for new opportunities to develop as an artist, performer and teacher of electronic music and hip-hop culture,” Ashley said. “With this Advanced Artist Award I can focus on study and composition so I can create a new body of original music.”

For each intake of Advanced Artist Award, a unique jury of professional visual, literary and performing artists is selected to judge submissions. For the spring intake, the jurors were Marten Berkman, Lea Roy Bernatchez, Tara McCarthy, Al Pope, Amelia Rose Slobogean and Joseph Tisiga.

Lotteries Yukon provides the funds for the award. The Department of Tourism and Culture administers the award.

The next deadline for the Advanced Artsist Award is October 1.

Learn more:
Advanced Artist Award


See list of funding recipients below.


Michael Edwards
Cabinet Communications

Lucie Wright
Communications, Tourism and Culture


Advanced Artist Award recipients – spring 2016


Project description

Amount awarded

Joyce Majiski

To participate in three experimental collaborations with selected artists.


Jordan Reti

To train in a three-month breakdance intensive with Tony 'Ynot' DeNaro in Phoenix, Arizona


Patricia Robertson

To complete a new collection of short stories, Hours of the Crab: Stories Real and Unreal.


Helen O'Connor

To mentor with Barbarian Press, papermaker Helmut Becker and printmaker Peter Braune and create a small edition of handbound artist books.


Ryan McNally

To attend Centrum Blues Workshop in Port Townsend, Washington and also study with Paul Pigat, TK Smith and Stephen Lind.


Simon Gilpin

To create a new body of work and experiment with new techniques and materials.


Daniel Ashley

To study at the online Warp Academy, and to complete six new original songs.


Patti Flather

To attend the Sage Hill Writing Experience, complete a 30-week online program of Humber School for Writers and write the first draft of a new novel.


Joshua Lesage

To participate in a 10-day mentorship with Tom Wolver, a sculptor and a carver, in Eureka Canyon, California.


Paul Baker

To take part in the EMMA international collaboration, a week-long residency of 100 artists collaborating in traditional craft and contemporary art.





News Release #16-251