Government of Yukon

April 25, 2016

Nominations now open for 2016 Council of the Federation Literacy Award

WHITEHORSE—The Council of the Federation is now inviting nominations for its 2016 literacy award in recognition of people who demonstrate outstanding achievement, innovative practice and excellence in literacy.

“Each year this award celebrates the vital contributions of people across Canada who demonstrate leadership in literacy,” Premier Darrell Pasloski said. “The Yukon government recognizes that literacy is a fundamental building block of vibrant societies and prosperous economies.”

Since 2004 premiers and ministers in each province and territory have presented the award to recognize the literacy achievements of educators, volunteers, learners, community organizations and businesses.

Last year, Margaret Workman received the award in recognition of her work in First Nations language literacy at the elementary, secondary and college levels.

“Literacy is a foundation for the success of all learners,” Minister of Education Doug Graham said. “I encourage Yukoners to nominate a friend, neighbour or colleague who has improved literacy in the territory.”

The Council of the Federation was established in 2003 to enable Canada’s 13 premiers to work collaboratively to strengthen the Canadian federation. This July the Government of Yukon will become the first territory to chair the council and host the Annual Premiers’ Conference.

The deadline for literacy award nominations is June 10.

Learn more:
Council of the Federation Literacy Award nominations
Council of the Federation



Dan Macdonald
Cabinet Communications

Michele Royle
Communications, Education

News Release #16-160