Government of Yukon

December 8, 2015

Government of Yukon appoints new chair of Yukon Water Board

WHITEHORSE—Premier Darrell Pasloski has announced the appointment of Loralee Johnstone as the new chair of the Yukon Water Board.

“Loralee Johnstone brings many years of experience working with industry as the YESAB manager in Mayo, and on the board of YESAB where she worked closely with First Nations and Yukon communities as she conducted assessments of numerous high profile developments,” Pasloski said. “We will look to her to lead the Yukon Water Board through the exciting challenge of implementing the Mine License Improvement Project with our First Nations partners.”

Johnstone succeeds Ron Johnson, who has served on the Yukon Water Board as a board member since 2006 and as chair since December 2012.

“I would like to thank Mr. Johnson for his commitment and service as chair of the Yukon Water Board,” added Pasloski.

The mandate of the Yukon Water Board is to provide for the conservation, development and use of water for the benefit of all Canadians and for the residents of Yukon. The board works to achieve this by issuing licenses for the use of water.

Johnstone’s tenure as board chair will commence on December 11, 2015.



Dan Macdonald
Cabinet Communications

Aisha Montgomery
Communications, Executive Council Office

News Release #15-383