Government of Yukon

November 4, 2015

Premier announces the appointment of four deputy ministers

WHITEHORSE—Premier Darrell Pasloski announced today that there will be new appointments of four deputy ministers for the Executive Council Office, Department of Energy, Mines and Resources, Department of Community Services and Department of Highways and Public Works.

“With these new deputy ministers in place, the senior management table is among the most diverse the territory has ever had, in terms of age, gender and heritage,” Pasloski said. “With these changes I feel confident that the public service has the leadership team that we need for the years ahead.”

  • Kelvin Leary succeeds Catharine Read as deputy minister of the Executive Council Office effective November 9.
  • Paul Moore succeeds Kelvin Leary at the Department of Community Services effective November 9.
  • Angus Robertson succeeds Mike Johnson at the Department of Highways and Public Works effective November 14.
  • Stephen Mills succeeds George Ross at the Department Energy, Mines and Resources effective November 14.

“I want to thank Catharine Read, George Ross and Mike Johnson for their contributions to Yukon,” Pasloski added. “Each of them has contributed to our territory and provided leadership both within their departments and across government.”

The three outgoing deputies announced their retirements over the course of the past three months.


See backgrounder for biographies.


Dan Macdonald
Cabinet Communications

Jim Connell
Public Service Commissioner



Kelvin Leary

Kelvin Leary has been a deputy minister since 2006, including assignments in the Departments of Environment and Community Services. Prior to this, Leary held progressively senior positions in the Yukon and federal governments in natural resource management and environmental assessment. He started his career in Alberta and moved to Yukon in 1985. His post-secondary education is in natural resource management and public administration.

Paul Moore

Paul Moore has many years of public service experience with municipal, First Nation and territorial governments. He was the director of the Human Resource and Education department for the Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in First Nation government. Moore worked for the City of Dawson for six years as the chief administrative officer before joining the Department of Community Services with the Yukon government in 2008. He was the director of community affairs and then the assistant deputy minister of community development. Moore holds a bachelor of arts from the University of Victoria and a master of arts in conflict analysis and management with a concentration in political and ethnic conflict from Royal Roads University.

Angus Robertson

Angus Robertson has held a number of leadership positions with federal, provincial and territorial governments. He started his career in 1980 with the Department of Indian and Northern Affairs and held a variety of posts in Yukon, Northwest Territories and Ottawa. He then served the B.C. government in several positions including assistant deputy minister of treaty negotiations with the Ministry of Aboriginal Affairs. Robertson joined the Yukon government's Executive Council Office in 1997 serving as assistant deputy minister of intergovernmental relations for four years. He was deputy minister of the Department of Economic Development for almost two years and then deputy minister of the Department of Energy, Mines and Resources for nine years. Robertson holds a bachelor of arts and a master of arts from the University of British Columbia.

Stephen Mills

Stephen Mills has extensive leadership and management experience in First Nations and territorial government as well as private enterprise. He worked for many years as a negotiator with the Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation, the Council of Yukon First Nations, and a number of other Yukon First Nations. For ten years Mills was the president and CEO of the Vuntut Gwitchin Limited Partnership and for seven years was on the board of directors and served as vice-president of Air North. He was an executive committee member of the Yukon Environmental and Socio-economic Assessment Board from 2004 to 2014 including four years as chairperson. Since June 2014 Mills has worked with the Aboriginal Relations division of the Yukon government’s Executive Council Office and since March 2015 was the assistant deputy minister. Mills is currently completing a masters in environmental practice and sustainability from Royal Roads University.

News Release #15-334