Government of Yukon

July 17, 2015

Yukon to be first territory to chair premiers’ Council of the Federation

ST. JOHN’S—Premier Darrell Pasloski will be the first territorial premier to chair the Council of the Federation, a role that commences with hosting the annual summer meeting of Canada’s premiers in Whitehorse, Yukon, in July 2016.

“I am very pleased to take on the significant leadership role of chairing the Council of the Federation next year,” Pasloski said. “Yukon has made many contributions to our country over the decades. This new opportunity to lead on issues that are important to all Canadians acknowledges our northern expertise and recognizes the long-standing significance of the North within Canada.”

The Council of the Federation comprises all premiers and is a face-to-face forum that enables them to foster constructive relationships among governments, work collaboratively and demonstrate leadership on issues that matter to all Canadians.

Newfoundland and Labrador is chair of the Council of the Federation from July 2015 to July 2016. The Government of Yukon is now assuming responsibilities as incoming chair. Pasloski will also continue as co-chair of the Health Care Innovation Working Group along with Ontario Premier Kathleen Wynne.

About 400 delegates typically attend premiers’ summer meetings, bringing economic benefits as well as profile-raising opportunities for host jurisdictions.

The dates for the 2016 summer meeting are July 20 to 22.


Elaine Schiman
Cabinet Communications
867-633-7961 (w); 867-334-6614 (m)

Joanna Lilley
Communications, Executive Council Office


News Release #15-226