Government of Yukon

February 13, 2015

A statement by Premier Pasloski on the 20th anniversary of four Yukon First Nation Final and Self-Government Agreements

WHITEHORSE—On February 14, 1995, the first of Yukon’s First Nation Final Agreements and Self-Government Agreements came into effect, launching the modern era of governance in Yukon.

On behalf of the Government of Yukon, I would like to congratulate the four Yukon First Nations that are celebrating 20 years of self-government on Saturday.

These four First Nations led the way for self-government in Yukon and Canada: Champagne and Aishihik First Nations, First Nation of Na-cho Nyäk Dun, Teslin Tlingit Council and Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation. The agreements were signed by chiefs Paul Birckel (CAFN), Robert Hager (NND), David Keenan (TTC) and Robert Bruce, Jr. (VGFN) and by Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development Tom Siddon and Government of Yukon Leader John Ostashek.

The agreements provide a foundation on which to work together to build capacity, strengthen our economy and find innovative solutions to shared issues.

Today, 11 Yukon First Nations have signed comprehensive Final and Self-Government Agreements. Yukon is a leader in land claim implementation and self-government, both in Canada and internationally. The Yukon and First Nations governments are helping to map the way for future generations across the North.



Elaine Schiman
Cabinet Communications


News Release #15-048