Government of Yukon

January 16, 2015

Yukon Premier announces changes to Cabinet

“The Cabinet ministers announced today bring a great deal of depth and experience to their new jobs, and will serve Yukoners with continued energy and commitment.”

-Premier and Minister of the Executive Council Office Darrell Pasloski

WHITEHORSE—Premier Darrell Pasloski has announced a strengthened and diversified Cabinet and new roles for backbencher MLAs. The changes include one new member of Cabinet, as well as a new Government House Leader, both from rural Yukon.

“I am proud of our government’s accomplishments and confident th at these changes will put us in an even stronger position to meet the challenges ahead, serve Yukoners and make our territory an even better place to live, work, play and raise a family,” said Pasloski. “Our new team is built on the strengths and expertise of each minister, while also allowing them to broaden their knowledge and experience within government. This provides for both stability and fresh perspectives.”

The changes announced today take effect immediately.

Premier Darrell Pasloski, MLA for Mountainview

Executive Council Office, Finance

Minister Elaine Taylor, MLA for Whitehorse West

Deputy Premier, Tourism and Culture, Women’s Directorate, French Language Services Directorate

Minister Brad Cathers, MLA for Lake Laberge

Justice, Yukon Development Corporation/Yukon Energy Corporation

Minister Doug Graham, MLA for Porter Creek North


Minister Scott Kent, MLA for Riverdale North

Energy Mines and Resources, Highways and Public Works

Minister Currie Dixon, MLA for Copperbelt North

Community Services, Public Service Commission

Minister Wade Istchenko, MLA for Kluane


Minister Mike Nixon, MLA for Porter Creek South

Health and Social Services, Workers’ Compensation Health and Safety Board

Minister Stacey Hassard, MLA for Pelly-Nisutlin

Economic Development, Yukon Housing Corporation, Yukon Liquor Corporation, Yukon Lottery Commission


“As an MLA representing a riding outside Whitehorse, I am very pleased to be given these new responsibilities,” Pelly-Nisutlin MLA Stacey Hassard said. “I am honoured to become part of a team that has the kind of strong and responsive leadership that our premier offers. Government works better when leaders know, understand and listen to their constituents, and I look forward to providing an additional voice for rural Yukon in Cabinet.”

In addition to the changes to Cabinet, Vuntut Gwitchin MLA Darius Elias becomes caucus chair and government house leader, with Lake Laberge MLA Brad Cathers assuming the role of deputy house leader. Watson Lake MLA Patti McLeod remains deputy speaker and chair of Committee of the Whole of the Yukon Legislative Assembly, and Elias becomes deputy chair of Committee of the Whole.

The MLA for Porter Creek Centre, David Laxton, retains his role as Speaker of the Yukon Legislative Assembly.



Elaine Schiman
Cabinet Communications

News Release #15-019