Government of Yukon

December 19, 2014

Three honoured with awards of excellence from the Department of Justice

WHITEHORSE—The Department of Justice held its annual awards of excellence ceremony on December 18, 2014. Departmental employees were joined in the Andrew A. Philipsen Law Centre atrium by Justice Minister Mike Nixon and Deputy Minister Tom Ullyett to recognize this year’s recipients.

This year’s award winners are:

  • victim service worker Kelly Allen;
  • Aboriginal Law Group lawyer Penelope Gawn; and
  • correctional officer Laurie Tamminen.

Each was recognized for their dedication, professionalism and outstanding contributions to the department.

“Today’s recipients reflect the goals and values we support and strive for as a department,” Nixon said. “Thank you for your service and dedication to the important work we do as a department.”

Allen was recognized for her dedicated efforts in implementing impactful programming in the Watson Lake community, including Relationship Skills for Women and Respectful Relationships for Men. Allen was often the sole victim service worker.

For her part, Gawn’s recognition stems from a 26 year career built on her professionalism with colleagues and clients as well as her mentorship of both new and experienced employees.

Tamminen was acknowledged for her efforts in organizing, publishing and distributing the WCC Connection, a monthly newsletter for Whitehorse Corrections Centre inmates and colleagues. Much of this work is done outside of regular work hours.

Each award recipient was presented with a framed certificate and a small gift.

This year, the three Department of Justice awards of excellence recipients were chosen from a group of 13 nominees. Traditionally, the awards can be presented to individuals or a group within the department who perform their duties in a manner that serves as a model for the rest of the department.



Elaine Schiman
Cabinet Communications

Tyler Plaunt
Communications, Justice


News Release #14-300