Government of Yukon

December 4, 2014

Yukon First Nations are governments - Premier Pasloski

WHITEHORSE—Yukon Premier Darrell Pasloski is asking Canada’s Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Bernard Valcourt to correct the record about self-governing Yukon First Nations. The premier will raise this matter directly with Minister Valcourt.

“The Umbrella Final Agreement is a foundational piece of the governance structure of Yukon and clearly provides for the development of First Nation Self-Government Agreements,” Pasloski said. “Since the signing of the Umbrella Final Agreement, 11 of 14 Yukon First Nations have signed such agreements and are now fully self-governing.”

The federal Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development recently stated incorrectly that Yukon First Nations are not recognized by the Umbrella Final Agreement (UFA) as governments. However, Chapter 24 of the UFA clearly provides for First Nation self-government.

“Yukon First Nation final agreements make up just under half of Canada’s modern land claim agreements, and Yukon First Nations are global leaders in the area of Aboriginal self-government,” Pasloski said. “This is something all Yukoners can be incredibly proud of.”

Since the signing of land claims and self-government agreements, successive Yukon governments have worked with Yukon First Nations on a government-to-government basis.

“It is important that the federal Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development recognizes self-governing First Nations as an order of government,” Pasloski added.



Elaine Schiman
Cabinet Communications

News Release #14-279