Government of Yukon

November 18, 2014

The Yukon government recognizes excellence in mining practices

WHITEHORSE—The winners of the 2014 Robert E. Leckie awards were announced yesterday evening at the 42nd Annual Geoscience Forum & Trade Show banquet.

This year’s recipients were GroundTruth Exploration Inc., Sä Dena Hes Operating Corporation and Fell-Hawk Placers.

“The Leckie Awards acknowledge companies who have demonstrated excellence in environmental stewardship, outstanding social responsibility, leadership and innovation in mining practices,” Minister of Energy Mines and Resources Scott Kent said. “This government values the outstanding work and efforts put forth by both the winners and nominees.”

The award for responsible and innovative exploration and mining practices in quartz mining was awarded to GroundTruth Exploration Inc. Recognized for developing state-of-the-art technologies that cause minimal environmental impacts, such as a flying drone to capture base line data on claims, they also created a light-weight rubber-tracked vehicle called a Geoprobe that can traverse land with minimal impact.

Sä Dena Hes Operating Corporation received the award for excellence in environmental stewardship in quartz mining for their work towards permanent closure of the Sä Dena Hes mine site. This work includes the removal of the mill and camp and reclamation of waste rock storage, tailings management facilities and mine entrances.

For their commitment to the highest operational standards for water conveyance structures, new roads and trails, camp construction and the final reclamation of the Ballarat Creek site, the award for excellence in environmental stewardship in placer mining went to Fell-Hawk Placers.

An honourable mention for excellence in environmental stewardship in quartz mining went to Chevron Canada Resources for the important rehabilitation work they have undertaken at the Crest Iron project at Snake River in the Peel region.

“The decommissioning and reclamation work that these companies undertake speaks volumes to their dedication to sustainable practices and demonstrates the balance that can be achieved between resource development and stewardship of all Yukon lands,” Kent added.

The awards are given in honour of Robert (Bob) E. Leckie, a Mayo mining inspector and innovator who was dedicated to the development of progressive land use practices for mining.



Elaine Schiman
Cabinet Communications

Carrie Meyer
Communications, Energy, Mines and Resources

News Release #14-260