Government of Yukon

October 29, 2014

Yukoners recognized for their contributions to community safety

WHITEHORSE—Last night the Minister of Justice presented eight Yukoners with Community Safety Awards in recognition of their important role in building community safety.

“Many Yukoners are working diligently to make our territory a safe and better place to live,” Minister of Justice Mike Nixon said. “The annual Community Safety Awards are a great way to acknowledge individual contributions as well as celebrate the collective efforts of the community.”

Innovative crime prevention initiatives, support services for victims of crime, volunteerism with at-risk youth and achievements in community policing were highlights among the 27 nominations received this year.

“These awards remind us that we can all make a difference in our community,” Nixon added. “I’d like to thank all the nominees for their contributions and encourage others to support initiatives that promote community safety.”

Award recipients are selected by the Community Safety Awards Nomination Committee. The committee is composed of: Lisa Anderson and Michael Riseborough from the Yukon Police Council; Assistant Deputy Minister of Community Justice and Public Safety Robert Riches; and Superintendent Paul McConnell from RCMP “M” division.

“Being a victim of crime I know first-hand what it's like to feel like your voice isn't being heard. But I can also tell you after two years of diligently working to make change with all the professionals and peers I have been working with, that your voice is indeed heard if you choose to speak up," Volunteer Award recipient Tamara Horsey said. “I'm very honoured to have received the award for outstanding volunteer in recognition of the hard work I have done and the voice I have had. We can all make change if we work together.”

The Community Safety Awards were established in 2012 in response to a recommendation from the 2010 Sharing Common Ground report, which identified a need to recognize the contributions of Yukoners who promote community safety.

Learn more: Community Safety Awards


See backgrounder below.

Elaine Schiman
Cabinet Communications

Megan Foreman
Communications, Justice


Backgrounder – Recipients of the 2014 Community Safety Awards

Youth Volunteer Award: Morgan Yuill is recognized for his support role with his school’s Challenge Day program, volunteerism with Camp Yukon and involvement with cadets.

Lifetime Contribution to Community Safety: The late Dr. Anne Williams is recognized for her commitment to improving responses for survivors of sexualized violence and young victims or witnesses of crime. Williams was a public advocate for dignity and choice during medical examinations for victims of sexualized violence. She was instrumental in organizing sexual assault nurse examiner training in Yukon.

Lifetime Contribution to Community Safety: Chief Superintendent Peter Clark is recognized for his strong and responsive leadership with the RCMP since 1982. Clark coauthored the transformative Sharing Common Ground report, which outlined 33 recommendations for rebuilding trust between the police and community. As the director of Northern Territories Association of Chiefs of Police, Clark ensures that the unique policing needs of the north are recognized and promoted at the national level.

Volunteer Award: Tamara Horsey is recognized for her desire to make a difference for victims of crime through community outreach and volunteerism. As a victim of crime herself, Tamara shares her story in order to advocate for victims’ rights. Tamara is a valuable contributor to victim services initiatives and provided input on the development of the Canadian Victims Bill of Rights.

Youth Mentorship Award: Constable Ben Kingdon is recognized for his service on the Special Olympics board of directors. As a volunteer RCMP representative and excellent role model, Kingdon contributes to the Law Enforcement Torch Relay and other events that link youth involvement with community policing.

Outstanding Community Policing: Sergeant Cam Lockwood is recognized for his dedication to community policing and his role in transforming relationships and safety in Watson Lake. Lockwood played a key role in establishing the innovative community safety protocol “Together for Justice” between the Watson Lake detachment and Liard Aboriginal Women’s Society. This protocol established a community inter-agency collaboration framework on which to build community safety and end violence against women.

Outstanding Project: Ann Maje Raider is recognized for work that improves safety for women. As the executive director of the Liard Aboriginal Women’s Society, Raider led the creation of the “Together for Justice” community safety protocol, which started a new relationship and established a framework for building community safety with the RCMP. Raider is also recognized for sharing her knowledge with other groups—such as the Women’s Coalition which is now working on a safety protocol between women’s groups and the Whitehorse RCMP.

Outstanding Contribution to Community Safety: Constable Craig Thur is recognized for his ongoing and dedicated service to Yukon. Thur is known for his investigative excellence and for the compassion he shows for those that have been affected by crime or tragedy. Thur is a valuable member of his unit’s team; his dedication to Yukon community safety during investigations is commendable.

News Release #14-245