Government of Yukon

June 19, 2014

Yukon government designates new areas requiring Class 1 notification

WHITEHORSE—The Government of Yukon has approved the designation of several new areas that will require notification for Class 1 (low level) mineral exploration activities.

Individuals prospecting or exploring at a Class 1 level on quartz or placer claims located on settlement lands or on crown lands as described below will need to notify the Yukon government.

“The Yukon government is working together with First Nations and the mining sector to achieve greater clarity and certainty for the development of a strong resource industry in the territory,” Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources Scott Kent said. “All parties recognize the social and economic importance of mining to Yukon.”

The new areas which will require notification beginning July 1, 2014 are:

  • all Category A and B Settlement Lands as identified under each Yukon First Nation Final Agreement;
  • the shared Traditional Territory of Kluane First Nation and White River First Nation, which is also described as the Southwestern Yukon Class 1 Notification Area;
  • the remainder of the Kaska Traditional Territory not already covered by the Ross River Area order, which is also described as the Watson Lake Class 1 Notification Area; and
  • the asserted area of the Taku River Tlingit First Nation, which is also described as the South Yukon Class 1 Notification Area.

“We are committed to managing Yukon’s natural resources responsibly and Class 1 notifications are a useful tool for this,” Kent added.

As a next step, the Yukon government will be working with First Nations and industry on setting revised thresholds for Class 1 notification that will apply across all of Yukon by the summer 2015 field season.

These actions follow the December 2012 court decision—Ross River Dena Council vs. the Government of Yukon—which stated that the Yukon government has a duty to notify and, where appropriate, consult with and accommodate the Ross River Dena Council before allowing any mining exploration activities to take place within the Ross River Area. In December 2013 the Yukon legislature passed the Act to Amend the Placer Mining Act and the Quartz Mining Act. This act allowed the Yukon government to designate areas where industry must notify the government of low level (Class 1) mining exploration activities.


See attached maps of three described areas.

Visit: Notification of Class 1 Activities

See attached maps:

  1. Southwestern Yukon Class 1 Notification Area 
  2. Watson Lake Class 1 Notification Area
  3. South Yukon Class 1 Notification Area


Elaine Schiman
Cabinet Communications

Jesse Devost
Communications, Energy, Mines and Resources

News Release #14-157