Government of Yukon

December 27, 2013

Outstanding students and volunteers to be recognized at annual levee

WHITEHORSE—Commissioner Doug Phillips extends an invitation to Yukoners to celebrate the accomplishments of volunteers and students at the New Year’s Levee on January 1, 2014 at the Kwanlin Dün Cultural Centre.

“It is no secret that Yukoners are devoted volunteers and I look forward to presenting awards to so many deserving individuals,” Phillips said. “Dedicated volunteers help our communities thrive and become better places for all of us to live.”

Amanda Price will receive a Commissioner’s Award for Public Volunteer Service. Price is being recognized for her tireless efforts with the Whitehorse chapter of Mothers Against Drunk Driving.

Outstanding youth achievement awards will be handed out to four individuals who reach out to youth with activities ranging from coaching to mentoring to leadership.

Three students from Whitehorse and one from Haines Junction will receive the Governor General’s Academic Medal, the most prestigious student award in Canada. It is presented annually to secondary students who graduate with the highest grade point average in their school.

Also this year, St. John Ambulance volunteer awards will be presented to Joanne Green and Kenneth Oppold, who have reached significant milestones—each have volunteered 2,000 hours of service with St. John Ambulance in Whitehorse.

The Commissioner’s levee will take place from 2 p.m. to 5 p.m. in the Longhouse at the Kwanlin Dün Cultural Centre on Front Street in Whitehorse.


See backgrounder below.


Lyndsey Hamilton
Commissioner’s Office

2014 Commissioner’s New Year’s Levee Award recipients

Public Volunteer Service

  • Amanda Price, Whitehorse

Outstanding Youth Achievement Awards

  • Travis Banks, Whitehorse
  • Cody Parks, Whitehorse
  • Vera Schall, Whitehorse
  • Finley Sparling, Whitehorse

2012/13 Governor General’s Academic Awards

  • Cameron Cottrell-Tribes, Porter Creek Secondary School, Whitehorse
  • Wendy Hartmann, St. Elias Community School, Haines Junction
  • Michaela Klaassen-St. Pierre, F.H. Collins Secondary School, Whitehorse
  • Jonas Vasseur, Vanier Catholic Secondary School, Whitehorse

St. John Ambulance Volunteer Award

  • Joanne Green, Whitehorse
  • Kenneth Oppold, Whitehorse

News Release #13-330