Government of Yukon

November 28, 2013

Outstanding sport and recreation leaders to receive awards

WHITEHORSE—Minister of Community Services Brad Cathers will present awards to 30 individuals for leadership and excellence in sport at the 2013 Sport Yukon awards celebration in Whitehorse tonight.

“As a parent of four Yukon athletes and as a sport official myself, I am proud of the accomplishments of all athletes, coaches and officials,” Premier Darrell Pasloski said. “Competitive or recreational involvement in sports teaches athletes about many skills that can be applied to all aspects of their lives.”

Yukon athletes representing nine sports—ranging from biathlon and cross country skiing, to orienteering, canoeing and curling—will be recognized for outstanding performance at regional, national and international competitions.

“Yukoners take great pride in the accomplishments of our remarkable and successful athletes,” Cathers said. “They, and our sport and recreation leaders, do so much to contribute to healthy and vibrant communities and their hard work and perseverance is an inspiration to us all.”

The Government of Yukon’s Community Recreation Leadership Award will be presented to Anne Morgan of Whitehorse and Ursula Angerer of Tagish. This award is presented annually to individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to sport, recreation and active living in their communities.

The Sport Yukon awards are presented every November. In addition to the Yukon government awards, Sport Yukon will name the Yukon Sport Hall Of Fame inductee and will also present awards for male and female athlete, team and coach of the year.

Learn more
Sport Yukon Award Night:


See backgrounder below.


Elaine Schiman
Cabinet Communications

Michael Edwards
Communications, Community Services


2013 Government of Yukon Sport Awards

Award for Community Recreation Leadership

  • Anne Morgan, Whitehorse
  • Ursula Angerer, Tagish

Awards of Excellence



  • Brenda Dion
  • Jessica Frotten


  • Ryan Burlingame


  • Pelly Vincent-Braun

Cross Country Skiing

  • Colin Abbott
  • Dahria Beatty
  • Marcus Deuling
  • David Greer
  • Knute Johnsgaard
  • Caelan McLean
  • Kendra Murray
  • Graham Nishikawa


  • Chelsea Duncan
  • Sarah Kolton
  • Thomas Scoffin
  • Mitch Young


  • Zach Bell
  • Bill Curtis

Figure Skating

  • Michael Sumner


  • Pia Blake
  • Trevor Bray
  • Kerstin Burnett
  • Nesta Leduc
  • Jennifer MacKeigan
  • Kendra Murray

Awards of Recognition



  • Tom Parlee


  • Savannah Cash

Speed Skating

  • Heather Clarke

News Release #13-306