Government of Yukon

November 26, 2013

Nominations invited for 2014 Excellence in Water Stewardship Award

WHITEHORSE—Yukon nominations are being sought for the 2014 Excellence in Water Stewardship Award established by Canada’s Premiers to recognize outstanding achievement, innovative practice and leadership in water stewardship.

“Premiers across Canada want to recognize the work being done all over the country to protect water quality and promote water conservation,” Premier Darrell Pasloski said. “We recognize the fundamental importance of water and our collective obligation to be responsible water stewards.”

All partnerships, businesses, institutions, municipalities, community groups and other organizations are eligible for the water stewardship award. It was presented in 2013 to the Yukon River Inter-Tribal Watershed Council.

“The award is part of a larger strategy to improve stewardship of our valuable water resources and foster best practices across Canada,” Pasloski added. “It is a public way to recognize and reward remarkable achievement.”

The deadline for nominations is January 14, 2014. Yukon nominations will be judged by a local selection committee and the award will be presented during Canada Water Week (March 17 to 23). The Yukon winner will receive a $1,000 grant, a certificate signed by the premier and a trophy.

“Water is essential to life and to the health of Yukon’s natural environment, people and economy,” Minister of the Environment Currie Dixon said. “The government understands stewardship is important in ensuring we will always have water for nature and water for people.”

Premiers endorsed the Council of the Federation’s Water Charter in 2010. The charter recognizes that a sufficient supply of clean water is critical for human health and for the sustainability of our communities. The Council of the Federation comprises all premiers and provides a forum for them work together for the benefit of all Canadians.

Learn more
Details about the Yukon award:
Information about Canada’s Premiers:



Elaine Schiman
Cabinet Communications

Nancy Campbell
Communications, Environment

News Release #13-300