Government of Yukon

October 25, 2013

Paramedics honoured at 2013 Annual Emergency Medical Services skills competition

WHITEHORSE—Yukon Emergency Medical Services’ (EMS) community-based paramedics were recognized for their dedication and service at the annual EMS skills challenge last weekend.

“Emergency Medical Services responders across the territory stand ready to come to the aid of Yukoners experiencing medical distress,” Minister of Community Services Brad Cathers said. “The recipients of these awards provide outstanding examples of their commitment to caring for their fellow Yukoners.”

Saturday’s skills competition ran teams through five stations that simulated common emergency care scenarios. The teams were scored according to their ability to provide exemplary emergency medical care while strategically assessing the situation and keeping themselves and others safe.

The 2013 Emergency Medical Services award winners:

  • Excellence in EMS Award – Dave Weir (Haines Junction) and George Kontogonis (Carmacks)
  • Bea Felker Award – Rick Staley (Haines Junction) and Darlene Hutton (Mayo)
  • Bruce Harder Memorial Award – Dawson City EMS crew
  • Beyond the Call of Duty Award – Heather Grantham (Faro), Blair Corley (Marsh Lake) and Teslin EMS crew
  • Excellence in EMS Education Award – Mike Perry and Janice Rose (Dawson EMS)

Annual Skills Competition winners:

  • 1st Place – Tagish EMS: Katie O'Farrell and Cleo Hosni
  • 2nd Place – Teslin/Dawson EMS: Derek Baker and Saskia Robbins
  • 3rd Place – Faro EMS: Joshua Wilcox and Alexandra Grawehr

EMS is responsible for providing emergency transportation and pre-hospital treatment for sick and injured people. Its ground and air ambulance services in communities are provided by a team of full-time paramedics, critical care nurses and a dedicated team of core volunteers.

For more information on getting involved in your community, call Yukon EMS at 867-456-6505 or visit


See backgrounder below.

Download high-resolution photograph.


Elaine Schiman
Cabinet Communications

Mac Hislop
Communications, Community Services


EMS awards criteria

The Excellence in EMS Award is presented to any community EMS attendant who does his/ her job well, is skilled as an attendant, has great bedside manner, mentors others (often by example), is an unsung hero and is a model EMS attendant.

The Bea Felker Award is presented to a supervisor who exhibits leadership, is respected by their crew, leads by example, and is one who exemplifies Bea on the job: punctual, submitting forms on time, dedicated to promoting education, taking the time to teach, and is an overall role model.

The Bruce Harder Memorial Award is awarded to the attendant or crew that works well together, has a great attitude, team spirit, is selfless, without ego, caring, believes in and shows great teamwork and leadership, and is committed to their community.

The Beyond the Call of Duty Award is a rare award, often applied to a specific situation. It’s presented to a Community EMS attendant who performed well in a tough spot, beyond what was required, while doing the job safely. This attendant performs unpleasant jobs without complaining and does them well, usually a task that was not in their job description. This award also applies to exhibiting community spirit.

The Excellence in EMS Education Award is presented to any community member for receiving or giving education. A member may be selected for receiving education and always striving to be the best, sacrificing their time with a commitment to improving their competence. A member may be selected for providing education by giving education, giving of their time, enjoying being the teacher, knowing their stuff and being committed to training others.

The Annual Skills Competition, first, second and third place awards are presented to the event winners. The first place team also receives the Neale Wortley Cup.

News Release #13-260