Government of Yukon

August 8, 2013

Yukon musicians head to the studio with help from the Yukon Sound Recording Program

WHITEHORSE—Seven Yukon musicians are receiving more than $25,000 to record new music from the Yukon Film & Sound Commission’s Sound Recording Program.

“Yukon has a growing base of musicians and sound recording professionals who are increasingly garnering attention beyond Yukon’s borders,” Economic Development Minister Currie Dixon said. “We are pleased to provide opportunities for Yukon musicians to develop sound products and to support the continued growth of Yukon’s sound recording industry, which contributes to the diversification of our territory’s economy.”

Sarah MacDougall is one of the musicians receiving a Professional Sound Recording Award.  MacDougall, who previously received a Professional Demo Award from the Sound Recording Program, won the 2012 Western Canadian Music Award for Best Roots Solo Recording of the Year for her album Greatest Ones Alive.

“The Yukon Film & Sound Commission’s Sound Recording Program enables me to record my next album at Old Crow Recording Studio with Bob Hamilton,” MacDougall said. “I am planning a release of the album in the new year, and a world tour to follow. The Sound Recording Program is instrumental in enabling me to get my new music out on record and to people outside of Yukon.”

MacDougall is currently on tour across Canada playing various music festivals and will be touring Ontario in October. She will also perform at the coveted Iceland Airwaves Festival in Reykjavík, Iceland from October 30 to November 3.

Megan Haddock is receiving a Professional Demo Award. Haddock is a singer-songwriter and guitarist from Whitehorse who performs with Yukon Women in Music and will be making her first foray into a professional studio to record her music.

“I’ve applied before but this is my first time receiving a Professional Demo Award so I’m very excited,” Haddock said. “Kim Barlow is going to produce the demo and it will provide me with some polished material to submit to music festivals and events.”

The Yukon Sound Recording Program has two annual application intakes, in May and November. For more information about the program, visit the Yukon Film & Sound Commission website at


See backgrounder below.

Download high resolution photo for printing.


Matthew Grant
Cabinet Communications
Matthew Cameron
Communications, Economic Development


2013 Sound Recording Program recipients

May 2013 intake—total awarded: $25,937.50

Professional Demo Recording Award—up to $2,000

  1. Jordy Walker—Sauna Music

2.         Megan Haddock
3.         Michael Brooks

Professional Sound Recording Award—up to $5,000

1.         Holger Haustein
2.         Headless Owl Records
3.         Old Time Machine
4.         Sarah MacDougall

News Release #13-205