Government of Yukon

August 5, 2013

Ministers assume new portfolios

WHITEHORSE—Four Yukon government Cabinet ministers are taking on new responsibilities, Premier Darrell Pasloski announced today.

“These changes strengthen our government and are an opportunity for ministers to provide continued strong leadership in new areas,” Pasloski said. “Today’s announcement will give Yukon the benefit of fresh ideas and valuable perspectives, while at the same time ensuring continuity within our government.”

Elaine Taylor becomes minister of Education, while retaining her role as deputy premier and responsibility for the French Language Services Directorate and the Women’s Directorate.

Brad Cathers is now responsible for Community Services, the Yukon Housing Corporation, Yukon Liquor Corporation and the Yukon Lottery Commission.

Scott Kent becomes the Energy, Mines and Resources minister and the minister responsible for the Yukon Energy Corporation and the Yukon Development Corporation.

Currie Dixon will have the Public Service Commission added to his duties.

“I would like to thank these ministers for taking on these new responsibilities,” Pasloski added. “I look forward to the contributions they will make in their new ministries, as they have done in their former roles. I am also grateful to all ministers for the work they have done over the past two years of our mandate and the role they have played in charting our course forward.”

The size of Cabinet, which is eight, remains the same.



Matthew Grant
Cabinet Communications

News Release #13-200