Government of Yukon

June 5, 2013

New inductees recognized at Yukon Transportation Hall of Fame

WHITEHORSE – The 2013 Pioneer of the Year, Person of the Year and Order of Polaris awards were presented last night to inductees and their families at the annual Transportation Hall of Fame ceremony at the Yukon Transportation Museum.

“The Transportation Hall of Fame honours individuals who have significantly contributed to the transportation industry in Yukon,” Minister of Highways and Public Works Wade Istchenko said. “These awards represent the tireless work of Yukoners who have committed their lives to shaping and improving our roadways, airways and waterways – we can see their hard work in the transportation system we have today.”

The Pioneer of the Year award was presented to the family of Fearon Lindsay “Frank” Steele. An Alaska Highway lodge owner and operator during the post-World War II era who provided a safe haven for travellers, Steele helped to ensure people arrived at their destinations safely.

The Person of the Year award was presented to John Van Every. A passion for the transportation industry came at a young age to Van Every and has stayed with him throughout his life. This commitment is reflected in his numerous transportation-related business ventures hauling equipment and materials throughout the territory.

The Order of Polaris award went to Kelly Collins. As the Transport Canada pilot examiner for Yukon, Collins currently holds over 11,000 hours of flying in a single-engine fixed wing aircraft. His contribution to the aviation industry in Yukon is reflected in his exemplary safety record, and in the skills and accomplishments of the many pilots he has trained in his 27 years of teaching.

The Transportation Hall of Fame, housed within the Yukon Transportation Museum, opened in 1996 to honour those who have made an extraordinary contribution to Yukon’s transportation history.

For more information about the inductees and to learn how to place a nomination, visit


See attached photo.


Matthew Grant
Cabinet Communications
Aisha Montgomery
Communications, Highways and Public Works

News Release #13-149