Government of Yukon

May 17, 2013 

Nominations for the 2013 Community Safety Awards are now open

WHITEHORSE—Yukoners are encouraged to submit nominations for the 2013 Community Safety Awards. Individuals, youth, community groups or programs, RCMP members and other law enforcement officials who contribute to making communities a safer place to live, work and play are eligible for the award.

“In response to the recommendations of Sharing Common Ground, we created the Community Safety Awards as a way to pay tribute to the individuals who work hard to help create safe communities,” Justice Minister Mike Nixon said. “Last year eleven recipients from across Yukon received the award and I am looking forward to recognizing more Yukoners for the tremendous work they do. If you know someone who meets the award criteria I strongly encourage you to nominate them.”

The Community Safety Awards are an annual awards program that recognizes the contributions of those who promote community safety through policing, crime prevention, mentoring youth and building partnerships. The awards were created from the Review of Yukon’s Police Force and Sharing Common Ground report, which highlighted a need to recognize the contributions of Yukoners who promote community safety through policing, crime prevention and reduction.

“Increasingly, responding to issues of community safety requires collaboration between government, non-governmental organizations, police, citizens and the community,” Nixon added. “This year’s theme for the Community Safety Awards will be Partnerships. Yukon is lucky to have a number of effective models of collaboration and partnership which aim to improve community safety and these need to be promoted and given support.”

Nominations for the Community Safety Awards will be open until September 9. An awards ceremony will be held in early November. Justice officials are reaching out to local communities, stakeholders and First Nations to encourage nominations. For more information on the awards and for nomination forms please visit the Department of Justice website.



Matthew Grant
Cabinet Communications
Shari-Lynn MacLellan
Communications, Justice


News Release #13-133