Government of Yukon

May 8, 2013

Territorial premiers to meet in Whitehorse to advance northern priorities

WHITEHORSE—Territorial premiers will discuss matters of mutual interest and concern affecting their jurisdictions at the 11th annual Northern Premiers’ Forum in Whitehorse on May 9 and 10.

Yukon Premier Darrell Pasloski, the Northwest Territories Premier Bob McLeod and Nunavut Premier Eva Aariak will meet to work collectively on topics including devolution, training and skills development, telecommunications connectivity, support for responsible resource development, and issues related to the Arctic coast, such as access, ports, and search and rescue.

“These annual meetings with our northern neighbours are an opportunity to work together on common issues that affect our communities and economies,” Pasloski said. “We also look forward to working closely with the federal government to advance northern priorities, as Canada takes on the role of chair of the Arctic Council over the next two years.”

The federal government starts its two-year chairmanship of the Arctic Council on May 15. The first meeting of senior Arctic officials will be held in Whitehorse from October 22 to 25, 2013.

Prior to the Northern Premiers’ Forum, premiers will meet Canadian representatives of the indigenous peoples’ organizations that have Permanent Participant status in the Arctic Council: Chief Joe Linklater, international chair of the Gwich’in Council, and Council of Yukon First Nations Grand Chief Ruth Massie, who will represent the Arctic Athabaskan Council.



Matthew Grant
Cabinet Communications
Joanna Lilley
Communications, Executive Council Office

News Release #13-121