Government of Yukon

May 2, 2013

Yukon Medical Council resumes work

WHITEHORSE—The newly-appointed Yukon Medical Council (YMC) cleared all outstanding licensing and registration requests at their first meeting on April 26 and is working with the Yukon government to improve the functions of the arm’s-length body, Yukon Medical Council chair Dr. Robert Zimmerman and Community Services Minister Elaine Taylor said today.

“The Yukon Medical Council plays a vital oversight role and I am pleased that the new council members have resumed this important work,” Taylor said. “We look forward to working cooperatively with the council to ensure that it continues to serve the Yukon public.”

The new members of the Yukon Medical Council were appointed on April 19 by the Yukon government with local physician members nominated by the Yukon Medical Association. The Yukon Medical Council members are: Dr. Robert Zimmerman (Chair), Dr. Dan Carew, Dr. Adrienne Mayes and Dr. Douglas Perry as physician members and Bev Buckway and Ruth Wilkinson as public members.

“I believe we have a strong group of individuals on the new council and we are determined to move forward in a positive manner to fulfill our responsibilities,” Zimmerman said. “I am pleased that the government has indicated its willingness to ensure we have the resources to fulfill our mandate.”

The new council is continuing to license physicians under national standards for licensure and the Agreement on Internal Trade.

The Yukon Medical Council performs an independent arm’s-length regulatory role for the Yukon medical profession and has two primary functions: the licensing of physicians and the investigation of physician complaints. This includes the ability to impose disciplinary measures against physicians. The YMC can also set standards of practice for those working in the profession.



Matthew Grant
Cabinet Communications
Matt King
Communications, Community Services
Dr. Robert Zimmerman
Chair, Yukon Medical Council

News Release #13-114