Government of Yukon

February 4, 2013

Old Crow citizens recognized with Diamond Jubilee medals

WHITEHORSE—Commissioner Doug Phillips is in Old Crow today wrapping up his Yukon-wide Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Community Tour with a presentation to Old Crow students. Last night, the commissioner awarded Queen’s Diamond Jubilee medals on behalf the Yukon MP and presented the Commissioner’s Award for Public Volunteer Service to Renee Charlie.

“I am happy to be in Old Crow to recognize the work of these citizens in their home community and to bring information about the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee to students here,” Phillips said.

Robert Bruce, Jane Montgomery and Marion Schafer were presented with Queen’s Diamond Jubilee medals. Bruce was recognized for community service, including helping to build the Old Crow airport, serving as interpreter for Elders at public meetings and being a signatory for the Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation Final Agreement.

Montgomery received the medal for her commitment to preserving oral and written Gwich’in language, and Schafer was nominated for providing spiritual guidance throughout the community in grief, challenges and triumphant times.

Steven Frost also received the medal at a ceremony in Whitehorse in recognition of his lifelong commitment and service to his community as a respected Elder and community leader.

In addition to the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee medals, Renee Charlie was presented with the Commissioner’s Award for Public Service for more than 40 years as a community leader as well as for her extensive volunteer efforts in Old Crow, organizing and directing cultural events and serving on a wide range of boards and committees.

The Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee medal is a commemorative medal created to mark the 2012 celebrations of the 60th anniversary of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II’s accession to the throne. The medal is a way for Canada to honour Her Majesty for her service and recognizes significant contributions and achievements by Canadians. During the year of celebrations, 60,000 Canadians were recognized.



Lyndsey Hamilton
Commissioner’s Office
Cheryl Major
Communications, Executive Council Office



News Release #13-020