Government of Yukon

January 8, 2013

Nominations now open for new excellence in water stewardship award

WHITEHORSE—Yukon nominations are now invited for a new annual award recognizing outstanding achievements in water stewardship as part of a Canada-wide effort led by the Council of the Federation.

“The Excellence in Water Stewardship Award has been established by premiers to honour organizations that demonstrate excellence, leadership and innovation in water stewardship in each province and territory,” Premier Darrell Pasloski said.

The annual award supports the Council of the Federation’s Water Charter that recognizes the collective obligation of Canadians and their governments to promote water conservation and protect water quality. Organizations, partnerships, businesses, institutions and community groups are all eligible for the award.

“We are proud to be part of this initiative and pay tribute to the admirable work that Yukoners and Yukon businesses and organizations do to help ensure that our ecosystems and communities are healthy and sustainable,” Environment Minister Currie Dixon said.

Yukon nominations will be judged by a local selection committee and the award will be presented on World Water Day on March 22. The winner will receive a $1,000 grant, a certificate signed by the premier and a trophy.

The deadline for nominations is January 31. To find out more about the award and download the nomination form, visit

The Council of the Federation provides a forum for premiers to work together for the benefit of all Canadians. Find out more at



Elaine Schiman
Cabinet Communications
Nancy Campbell
Communications, Environment

News Release #13-004