Government of Yukon

October 15, 2012

Emergency Medical Services awards ceremony honours Yukon paramedics

WHITEHORSE—Yukon Emergency Medical Services community team members gathered in Whitehorse over the past weekend for training activities and an awards ceremony acknowledging excellence in emergency medical service delivery. Participants took part in an annual meeting, emergency management training and a friendly but challenging skills competition.

“The Government of Yukon is proud of the dedication and commitment of our Emergency Medical Services professionals who work closely with all emergency responders to provide help when we need it most,” Community Services Minister Elaine Taylor said. “It was an honour to present this year’s awards of excellence and to be a part of the celebration in recognition of deserving members of Yukon’s protective services community.”

Saturday’s skills competition saw teams work through five simulated common emergency care scenarios. Teams were scored according to their ability to provide exemplary emergency medical care while strategically assessing the situation and keeping themselves and others safe.

The 2012 Emergency Medical Services award winners are:

  • Scott Stewart, Haines Junction and Cathy Brais, Eagle Plains – Excellence in EMS Award
  • Rick Christianson, Carcross – Bea Felker Award
  • Cyndy Bekk, Faro – Bruce Harder Memorial Award
  • Watson Lake crew: Scott Cole, Anthony Merlin, Trevor Millen, Tyler Porter, Celine Skerget – Beyond the Call of Duty Award
  • Maria Kontogonis, Carmacks and Doug MacKay, Destruction Bay – Excellence in EMS Education Award
  • Gabe Ellis and David Bennett, Pelly Crossing – first place in the Annual Skills Competition
  • Stephanie Hedley and Daniel Staley, Whitehorse – second place in the Annual Skills Competition
  • Mike Perry and Saskia Robbins, Dawson City – third place in the Annual Skills Competition

Yukon Emergency Medical Services is responsible for providing safe, rapid and highly-skilled emergency medical care and treatment for sick and injured people being transported to the nearest health care facility capable of delivering the required medical attention.

Ground and air ambulance services in communities are provided by a team of full-time paramedics, critical care nurses and a dedicated core of Emergency Medical Services volunteers. For more information about how to get involved in your community, call Yukon EMS at 867-456-6505. Training is provided at no cost to applicants. For more information, visit

See backgrounder below.


Elaine Schiman
Cabinet Communications
  Cathrine Morginn
Communications, Community Services


The Excellence in EMS Award is presented to a Community EMS attendant who does their job very well; is skilled as an attendant; has an excellent bedside manner; mentors others; is an unsung hero and a model EMS attendant.

The Bea Felker Award is presented to a supervisor who exhibits leadership; is respected by the crew; leads by example; and exemplifies Bea on the job by being punctual; submitting paperwork on time and being dedicated to promoting education by sharing knowledge.

The Bruce Harder Memorial Award is awarded to the attendant or crew that works well with others; has great attitude and team spirit; shows leadership and is caring and committed to their community.

The Beyond the Call of Duty Award is rarely handed out and usually applies to a specific situation. It is presented to a Community EMS attendant who performed well in a difficult environment and went above and beyond the requirements of the position, while doing the job safely. The attendant also performs unpleasant jobs well without complaining. This award applies not only to the individual’s EMS role but also takes into account their contribution to the community,

The Excellence in EMS Education Award is presented to any community member for excellence in emergency medical service education. A member may be selected for their commitment to educational pursuits to improve their competence and also for dedicating their time to the education and training of others.

The Annual Skills Competition, first, second and third place awards are presented to the skills challenge winners. The first place team also receives the Neale Wortley Cup in acknowledgement of their exemplary teamwork.

News Release #12-192