Government of Yukon

September 17, 2012

Memorandum of Understanding renewed with Association of Yukon Communities

WHITEHORSE—The Government of Yukon and the Association of Yukon Communities (AYC) have renewed an accord that sets the stage for continued cooperation in the future. Community Services Minister Elaine Taylor and Association of Yukon Communities president Elaine Wyatt signed the accord during the municipal gala held in Whitehorse on Friday in celebration of the public service and leadership by Yukon municipal leaders.

“The Memorandum of Understanding formalizes the collaborative working relationship established between the Government of Yukon and the Association of Yukon Communities to better serve Yukoners,” Taylor said. “Local governments play a critical role in providing programs and services to Yukoners and this agreement will strengthen our mutual commitment to improve the lives of people in all Yukon communities.”

Under the umbrella of the previous Memorandum of Understanding, Yukon and the AYC completed the Our Towns, Our Future review; will soon finalize a new five-year Comprehensive Municipal Grant program to take effect in 2013-14; moved forward with a review of the Municipal Act, and enhanced municipal and unincorporated structural fire services through additional investments in training, equipment and oversight from the Fire Marshal’s Office.

“In addition to signing the new Memorandum of Understanding, the municipal gala was a great way for Community Services and the Association of Yukon Communities to celebrate the accomplishments of the mayors and councillors and thank them for their service,” Wyatt said. “Over the past three years, each of these people has demonstrated leadership and made a tremendous commitment to their fellow citizens in time and energy to further the long-term goals and aspirations of their communities.”

First signed in 2009, the accord identifies how the organizations will work together for their mutual benefit as well as the benefit of municipal and local advisory councils and Yukon residents.

Elections will be held October 18 in Yukon’s eight municipalities and five local advisory areas. For more information visit



Elaine Schiman
Cabinet Communications
Bonnie Venton Ross
Communications, Community Services

News Release #12-163