Government of Yukon

February 23, 2012

Yukon Police Council members selected

WHITEHORSE—The Government of Yukon is moving forward with implementing another of the recommendations of Sharing Common Ground by appointing members to the Yukon Police Council.

“The Yukon Police Council will play a vital role in bringing forward the views of Yukon citizens,” Justice Minister Mike Nixon said. “The Council will help shape the priorities for policing in a way that meets the unique needs of Yukon communities.”

The Yukon Police Council was created in response to the Review of Yukon’s Police Force. During the review citizens expressed the need for ongoing dialogue and a permanent avenue to provide input into policing priorities.

In total, 42 individuals submitted applications to be council members. Six applicants have now been selected. “The members selected for the Yukon Police Council broadly represent the Yukon population with a balance of women and men, rural and urban and First Nations,” Nixon said.

The members of the Yukon Police Council are:

Lisa Anderson
Patricia Daws 
William Klassen

David LeBarge
Doris McLean
Michael Riseborough 

The chair of the council will be Deputy Minister of Justice Dennis Cooley. The role of the Yukon Police Council is to:
  • ensure that a broad representation of Yukon citizens have input into the Territorial Police Service objectives, priorities and goals established by the Minister of Justice;
  • ensure that community needs and values are reflected in policing priorities;
  • provide advice that the Minister of Justice may consider when establishing policing objectives, priorities and goals pursuant to the Territorial Police Services Agreement; and,
  • increase the flow of information between citizens, the Department of Justice and “M” Division of the RCMP.
The first meeting of the Yukon Police Council is set for late March. Visit online for more information on the Yukon Police Council.


Darren Parsons
Cabinet Communications
Chris Ross
Communications, Justice

News Release #12-028