Government of Yukon

December 2, 2011

Car seat safety program winners announced

WHITEHORSE—The 2011 winners of the Child Car Seat Safety Program draw were announced today by Minister of Highways and Public Works Wade Istchenko.

“I am pleased this program has succeeded again this year,” Istchenko said. “Winners of this contest, both parents and children, have not only increased their safety in the vehicle, but have also won a $500 Registered Education Savings Plan contribution towards their future.”

The 2011 winners are:

• Emily Ann Westover, 2-weeks-old, from Whitehorse

• Danika Ryelle Wynnyk, 2-years-old, from Whitehorse

• Ella Dawn Johnston, 2½-years-old, from Teslin

• Otis Lewis, 2-years-old, born in Carmacks now residing in Ontario

In order to be eligible for the contest, participants had their child restraint system or booster seat inspected by one of the Yukon government’s certified Child Restraint System Technicians. In 2011, 124 people had their child car seats inspected and the Child Car Seat Safety Team continued to work with parents to increase car seat safety and awareness in Whitehorse and other Yukon communities.

This year marked the tenth year of the popular safety program, which will continue into 2012.

For more information on child car seat safety, or how to get your child’s car seat inspected, call 867-667-5832 or visit


Elaine Schiman
Cabinet Communications
Aisha Montgomery
Communications, Highways and Public Works

News Release #11-174