Government of Yukon

FOR RELEASE     #11-146
September 9, 2011


Employees honoured at 2011 Premier’s Award of Excellence presentations

WHITEHORSE—One individual and three teams of Yukon government employees were presented with the 2011 Premier’s Award of Excellence in a luncheon ceremony in Whitehorse today. The annual event honours employees who have demonstrated exceptional achievements and professionalism in the public service.

Premier Darrell Pasloski says the recipients have shown a standard of professionalism that is the foundation of a strong public service.

“These awards celebrate employees whose commitment to quality of service, leadership and innovation make Yukon a better place for all,” Pasloski said.

The Premier’s Award of Excellence recognizes the significant accomplishments of Yukon government employees for outstanding service. The award aims to strengthen pride in the public service, call attention to its good work and provide an opportunity to showcase individual employee talents and teamwork.


See backgrounder below.


Elaine Schiman
Cabinet Communications


Sarah Crane
Communications, Public Service Commission



Backgrounder: 2011 Premier’s Award of Excellence - recipients

2011 Individual Recipient

Robin Walsh
, Highways & Public Works

Robin is described by his nominators as someone whose leadership is a significant factor in the achievements of the Transportation Engineering branch. Among other accomplishments, he has overseen major infrastructure improvements and has championed the development of permafrost mitigation and adaptation strategies.

2011 Team Recipients

Dawson Waste Water Treatment Project - Heritage Burials Recovery Team

This team includes three people from Tourism & Culture, one from the Carcross/Tagish First Nation and two from Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in. After the discovery of human remains at the Dawson Waste Water Treatment Project site, this team provided leadership in sustaining community, government and private sector relationships through respect and co-operation. They worked to preserve Yukon history while recognizing the importance of the water treatment project. Team members are Christian Thomas, Ruth Gotthardt and Greg Hare in the Department of Tourism & Culture as well as Susan Mooney from the Carcross/Tagish First Nation and Sue Parsons and Jackie Olson from the Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in.

Mayo Ice Damming Flood Response Team

This team includes Don Hutton and Chris MacPherson from Community Services, Steve Therriault from Energy, Mines and Resources and Calvin Hoogland from Highways & Public Works. Don, Steven and Calvin work in Mayo and Chris works in Whitehorse. Faced with rising groundwater levels caused by thick ice floes in the Mayo River, this team faced the uncertainties and challenges with innovative but practical approaches to protect the village.

Yukon Film & Sound Commission Team

This team has been nominated for “Yukonic: The Map, the Gold and the Girl” a web video series that markets and supports the Yukon film industry. Barbara Dunlop, Iris Merritt, Rhea Nobel, Nancy Lewis-deGraff and Dennis Zimmerman – all employees in Economic Development – are members of this team.