Government of Yukon

FOR RELEASE     #11-144
September 8, 2011


Council of the Federation Literacy Award presented to deserving Yukoner

WHITEHORSE—Premier Darrell Pasloski presented longtime literacy advocate Claire Derome with the Council of the Federation Literacy Award today, in conjunction with International Literacy Day, designated by the United Nations.

The national award is presented to one literacy leader in each province and territory. Award recipients were announced in July.

“It is my privilege to recognize Claire Derome for her leadership and commitment to the promotion of literacy in Yukon,” Pasloski said. “This award acknowledges the importance of literacy as an essential building block in the development of a vibrant society and a prosperous economy.”

Derome has been an advocate for both family and workplace literacy for many years. As a member and past president of the Whitehorse Rendezvous Rotary Club, she partnered with the Yukon Literacy Coalition and was instrumental in the introduction and success of the Yukon Imagination Library. She was also involved in the creation of the Family Literacy Centre, which provides programming and resources to support literacy and essential skills for families.

Derome supported workplace literacy in her past role as board member for the Yukon Mine Training Association and continues to do so as president of the Yukon Chamber of Mines through the promotion of education and training opportunities.

Pasloski represents Yukon in the Council of the Federation, which comprises all of Canada’s premiers.

Previous Council of the Federation Literacy Award winners in Yukon include Eleanor Millard, Emma Sam, Gordon Hardie, Patty Wiseman, Rock Brisson and George Green.

Visit the Council of the Federation for a complete list of the 2011 literacy award recipients and more information about the award.



Elaine Schiman
Cabinet Communications


Chris Madden
Communications, Education