Government of Yukon

yukon_gov_webwordmark(1) yk_crest_web

FOR RELEASE     #11-126
August 17, 2011


Website features voices from the Yukon Legislative Assembly’s past

WHITEHORSE—The Legislature Speaks: Voice Recordings from the Yukon Archives Vault 1961 – 2001 website, a joint project of the Yukon Archives and the Yukon Legislative Assembly, will be officially launched today.

Yukon’s Speaker of the Assembly Ted Staffen and Tourism and Culture Minister Elaine Taylor will make the announcement with former Commissioner, former MLA and Friends of the Yukon Archives director Jack Cable.

“Politics is about people,” Staffen said. “The Legislature Speaks features the voices of some of the people who worked to improve Yukon and the lives of Yukoners. It is a great way to recognize their contributions to public life. The Yukon Archives staff has done a wonderful job in assisting us with this project.”

The website presents audio clips, biographies and photographs of Yukon commissioners and members of the Yukon Legislative Assembly and its predecessor, the Yukon Council, from the years 1961 to 2001.

As an on-line reference tool, The Legislature Speaks website offers a glimpse into northern governance and is a small example of the archival material held by the Yukon Archives on the Yukon Council and its successor, the Yukon Legislative Assembly.

The Legislature Speaks is the latest in a series of initiatives by the Yukon Legislative Assembly to promote greater awareness of the assembly’s history and how it functions today. The assembly also has outreach programming for elementary and high school students, including Youth Parliament and the Legislative Page Program. The assembly held its first Seniors and Elders Parliament in May 2011.

View The Legislature Speaks: Voice Recordings from the Yukon Archives Vault 1961 – 2001 website.

For information about the Yukon Legislative Assembly, visit the website.



Elaine Schiman
Cabinet Communications
Karen Keeley
Communications, Tourism & Culture
Helen Fitzsimmons
Legislative Assembly Office