Government of Yukon

FOR RELEASE     #11-077
June 14, 2011

Yukon Public Service Week celebrations

WHITEHORSE—Yukon government employees are celebrating Yukon Public Service Week at various events this week.

“Public Service Week is an opportunity to celebrate the work and achievements of Yukon’s public service,” Minister responsible for the Public Service Commission Elaine Taylor said. “The Yukon government is pleased to host a number of events throughout the territory in recognition of Yukon’s public service and the important work public servants provide on behalf of Yukon citizens.”

Yukon Public Service Week events are held in various communities on a rotating basis each year. As well as the Whitehorse barbeque, 2011 events are also being held in:

  • Beaver Creek (hosted by Tourism & Culture) – June 14 from 11:30 to 1:30, Visitor Reception Centre;
  • Carmacks (hosted by Health and Social Services) – June 14 from 11:30 to 1, Forestry Building;
  • Ross River (hosted by Health and Social Services) – June 15 from 12 to 1, Ross River Health Centre;
  • Old Crow (hosted by Education) – June 16 from 4 to 6, Community Hall, followed by a community baseball game;
  • Carcross (hosted by Community Services) – June 16 from 11:45 to 1:15, SS Tutshi; and
  • Mayo (hosted by Energy, Mines & Resources) – June 16 from 11:30 to 1:30, Curling Club.

The Whitehorse barbeque will be held along the boardwalk behind the Yukon Tourism and Culture building from 12 p.m. to 1:30 p.m. on Tuesday, June 14.

The names of the nominees for the 2011 Premier’s Award of Excellence will be announced and the event will feature traditional First Nations music and crafts in honour of National Aboriginal Day (June 21). The annual Yukon Government Employee Photo Contest “People’s Choice” winners will also be announced.

Launched in 1992 as a federal government initiative called “National Public Service Week”, Yukon public servants celebrate “Yukon Public Service Week” during the third week of June each year. The 2011 Yukon Public Service Week is June 13 to 17.



Brianne Young
Cabinet Communications

Desiree O’Brien
Public Service Commission