Government of Yukon

FOR RELEASE     #11-010
January 20, 2011

Yukon artists receive Sound Recording Program support

WHITEHORSE—Yukon government’s Film & Sound Commission is awarding $36,000 to 12 Yukon sound recording professionals through the Yukon Sound Recording Program.

“Yukon has an abundance of musical talent competing on the national and international stage,” Economic Development Minister Jim Kenyon said. “Yukoners have been nominees and winners of awards at the Junos, the Western Canadian Music Awards and numerous other national and international events.”

Jonas Smith of JJS3 is one of the successful recipients receiving $5,000 to produce a full-length recording.

“We recently completed a Western Canadian tour and are excited to get back into the studio to record our next album, set to be released in April,” Smith said. “The funding from the Film & Sound Commission allows our band to record an album and get back on the road to tour while we still have momentum. To do this on our own would take time and we’d risk losing the momentum we built on our previous tour.”

Whitehorse songwriter and performer Brenda Berezan, another successful recipient, was awarded $2,000 to produce a demo recording.

“My band members, The Free Radicals, and I look forward to being in the studio and collaborating with a professional producer. I'll be gaining new recording experience through this, which I'm very excited about,” Berezan said. “My resulting demo will be a great new tool in my promotional kit to help me book gigs, to lay the groundwork for a larger recording project, and to potentially gain some radio airplay.”

The Yukon Sound Recording Program is available to assist with the cost of professional sound and demo recordings. The grants are awarded twice yearly with application deadlines of May 1 and November 1.

For more information about the Yukon Sound Recording Program visit


See backgrounder below.


Emily Younker
Cabinet Communications


MaryRose Metcalfe
Communications, Economic Development



Yukon Sound Recording Program Recipients: November 2010 Intake

Professional sound recording – $5,000 each:
Boyd Benjamin
Grant Simpson
Jonas Smith of JJS3
Pascal St-Larent
Professional demo recording – $2,000 each:
Brenda Berezan
Michael Brooks
Erica Heyligers
Rose Kirchner
Amelia Merhar
Sylvie Painchaud
Susan Phillips
Gordie Tentrees