Government of Yukon

FOR RELEASE     #10-191
October 21, 2010

Ten bursaries awarded to students in health and medical fields

WHITEHORSE – Ten Yukoners are recipients of this year’s post-secondary health and medical education bursaries, Health and Social Services Minister Glenn Hart announced today.

"I am very pleased that Yukon residents continue to choose the health care field as a career,” Hart said. “I am even more pleased that we are able to support them in achieving their goals. Given that many of these individuals will come home to Yukon, we are investing in not only their future, but Yukon’s future."

Four students received the Health Profession Education Bursary. Ashley Bray is studying nutrition and Josee Deslandes is embarking on a physiotherapy degree; Aaron MacKenzie and Katherine Tousignant are both studying occupational therapy.

In addition, Leah Anderson, Aaron Bielz, Kelly Bowers and Melanie Brown were the recipients of the Yukon Nursing Bursary; Scott Westberg and Suzanne Ettie are the two medical school students receiving this year’s medical bursary.

The Health Profession Education Bursary currently supports 10 students in a variety of health programs and seven nursing students are currently being supported through the Nursing Bursary program.

The Yukon government provides the three different health education bursary programs under its Health and Human Resources Strategy. The three programs have provided support to 59 students since 2006.



Emily Younker 
Cabinet Communications


Pat Living
Communications, Health & Social Services