Government of Yukon

FOR RELEASE     #10-109
June 15, 2010

Advanced Artist Award supports artistic development and exploration

WHITEHORSE – Twelve artists will share $40,000 to explore new directions and produce new work in the visual, literary and performing arts Tourism and Culture Minister Elaine Taylor announced.

“Yukon government is proud to support professional artists in developing their craft and creating innovative work,” Taylor said. “We all benefit from their creativity, which enriches our quality of life and our communities, and which is integral to making Yukon a wonderful, vibrant place to live and to visit.”

The Advanced Artist Award is available to professional artists to develop a particular art form or explore a new area; for short term educational pursuits; for post secondary or post graduate study; or for travel related to artistic development.

For writer Jamella Hagen, the award will support the completion of a collection of poetry that explores themes of geography, identity, gender politics, and the politics of travel.

“Receiving an Advanced Artist Award will provide me with time to complete my first manuscript of poetry, forthcoming with Nightwood Editions,” Hagen said. “The manuscript begins in Northern BC where I grew up, and I moved to the Yukon from Vancouver last year hoping to find some closure for the project – to reconnect with the north – but also to explore new approaches and opportunities. I am grateful for the community and support that I have found here.”

The award’s support for artistic development through education will assist Brian Fidler in attending a professional master class for theatre directors in Kitchener/Waterloo.

“This award means that I will be learning from the very best teachers in the country in a hands-on setting,” Fidler said. “As well, I’ll have the opportunity to connect with my fellow students, directors from across Canada, who are creating exciting, innovative work. The experience will enable me to raise the bar of my own work as a director and to share what I learn with Yukon actors, playwrights and audience.”

Award applications are accepted twice a year, with submissions adjudicated by a jury of artists representing the disciplines of the applicants. Jury members for the spring intake included Rosemary Piper, Mark Preston, Daniel Janke, Amanda Leslie and Jerome Stueart.

For more information on the Advanced Artist Award visit


See backgrounder and photo below.


Emily Younker
Cabinet Communications


Heather LeDuc
Communications, Tourism & Culture


Advanced Artist Award Recipients, Spring 2010 intake

  Recipient   Project Description   Amount received
1 Daniel Ashley  To produce a body of audio recordings using power generated only from green energy sources. 


2 Emma Barr  To mentor under a visiting master painter, Dominik Modlinski, in the discipline of "en plein air" (outdoor painting) in oils. 


3 Nicole Bauberger  To paint a sequence of works along the drive from Edmonton to Whitehorse. 


4 Marcelle Dubé  To attend the Oregon Coast Professional Writers Mystery Workshop. 


5 Brian Fidler  To attend the Masterclass for Theatre Directors in Kitchener/Waterloo, Ontario. 


6 Erling Friis-Baastad  To further develop a collection of essays combining science of the Boreal North and first person narrative. 


7 Michael Gates  To prepare a manuscript for publication melding the history of the Dalton Trail with personal narrative. 


8 Anne Louise Genest  To pursue advanced studies in clawhammer banjo, rhythm guitar, mandolin, and fiddle, and then write new works. 


9 Jamella Hagen  To complete a collection of themed poetry on geography, identity, gender politics, and the politics of travel. 


10 Celia McBride  To research and write a new play exploring the reconciliation of a woman soldier's war trauma and her religious faith, through her friendship with an army chaplain. 


11 Clea Roberts  To attend the Great Blue Heron Writing Workshop in Antigonish, Nova Scotia and then dedicate time to writing new poems. 


12 Tracey Wallace  To attend a workshop on international photo-journalism pertaining to social justice in Istanbul, Turkey. 






Minister Taylor with recipient visual artist Nicole Bauberger in Vancouver.