Government of Yukon

FOR RELEASE     #10-095
June 2, 2010

Yukon Transportation Hall of Fame recognizes new inductees

WHITEHORSE – The 2010 Pioneer of the Year and Person of the Year awards were presented yesterday to two inductees by Highways and Public Works Minister Archie Lang.

“For 14 years, the Transportation Hall of Fame has honoured individuals and companies that have made outstanding contributions to the evolution of the transportation industry in Yukon," Lang said. “Presenting these awards enriches Yukoners knowledge of historic events and about the transportation system that we enjoy today.”

The Pioneer of the Year award was presented to Paul Cyr. He dedicated his life to working with all sorts of transportation machinery. Cyr is best known for his ingenious discovery and heroism in 1962. He introduced the use of a D-8 Caterpillar® for railroad snow removal. His discovery proved that bulldozers could be used on railroad tracks and on the high bridges. Cyr’s heroism also led to the rescue of train passengers and work colleagues that had been trapped by a blizzard.

The Person of the Year award was presented to Neil Keobke. His extensive career has been instrumental in opening the North and has exhibited outstanding leadership skills in all his endeavours. Keobke oversaw the construction and maintenance of facilities and roads that enabled the transportation of goods and services for citizens and the mining sector.

The two award recipients were honoured at a ceremony that took place at the Yukon Transportation Museum on Tuesday, June 1.

To learn about the inductees and how to place a nomination visit


See photos below.


Emily Younker
Cabinet Communications


Jennifer Magnuson
Communications, Highways & Public Works



Highways and Public Works Minister Archie Lang presents Neille Buckway Keobke the Person of the Year Award, on behalf of his father the late Neil Keobke (upper photo) and Paul Cyr accepts his Pioneer of the Year Award from Highways and Public Works Minister Archie Lang (lower photo). Photos by Government of Yukon