Government of Yukon

yukon_gov_wordmark RCMP_colour72dpi

FOR RELEASE     #10-090
May 19, 2010

Review of Yukon’s police force underway

WHITEHORSE – The Review of Yukon’s Police Force has officially started and the advisory committee is in place, Justice Minister Marian C. Horne and Superintendent Peter Clark, “M” Division Royal Canadian Mounted Police announced today.

“The advisory committee will provide advice to the co-chairs on the strategic direction of the review, including its engagement strategy and research agenda,” Horne said. “I am very pleased that the advisory committee has begun their work and with the commitment they’ve shown in moving forward.”

Committee membership includes:

Dennis Cooley, Justice Deputy Minister
Peter Clark, Superintendent “M” Division RCMP

Lois Moorcroft, women’s organizations coalition representative
Lorraine Netro, First Nations women’s representative
Simone Arnold, Council of Yukon First Nations
Stuart Whitley, Health and Social Services
Robert Riches, Community Justice & Public Safety, Justice
Beverly Buckway, Association of Yukon Communities
Rick Smith, Protective Services, Community Services
Shauna Curtin, Women's Directorate
Inspector Andy Seidemann, RCMP “M” Division

The advisory committee will assist the co-chairs by:

  • identifying issues of interest to Yukoners,
  • helping to ensure that diverse points of view are taken into account as the review progresses,
  • facilitating and/or undertaking engagement processes on the co-chairs’ behalf, and,
  • providing advice and input to the co-chairs to ensure that the recommendations considered in the final report reflect Yukoners’ concerns.

For more information about the review, visit



Roxanne Vallevand
Cabinet Communications


Dan Cable
Communications, Justice


Sgt Don Rogers
NCO i/c M Division Strategic Communications