Government of Yukon

FOR RELEASE     #10-004
January 12, 2010

Tax room sharing agreements with First Nations renewed

WHITEHORSE – Seven Yukon self-governing First Nation chiefs have signed personal income tax room sharing agreements with the Government of Yukon.

“Renewal of these agreements with First Nation governments for a 10-year period demonstrates this government’s continuing commitment to implement self-government agreements,” Premier Dennis Fentie said after signing the agreements on December 17.

“These agreements mean that 95 per cent of the Yukon personal income tax paid by people living on Settlement Land will be available to each of the seven First Nations through their respective income tax acts,” Fentie added.

The following First Nations have renewed their personal income tax room sharing agreements:

  • Champagne and Aishihik First Nations,
  • Selkirk First Nation,
  • Tr’ondek Hwëch’in,
  • Little Salmon/Carmacks First Nation,
  • First Nation of Na-cho Nyäk Dun,
  • Teslin Tlingit Council, and
  • Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation.

The existing agreements expired on December 31, 2009 with the new agreements taking effect from January 1, 2010.

Three other First Nations with agreements due to expire over the next six years are expected to enter into negotiations with the Government of Yukon to make similar arrangements.

Personal income tax room sharing agreements have also been negotiated between Yukon First Nations governments and the Government of Canada. The Canada Revenue Agency collects and remits the First Nations income tax in the same way that it does for each of the provinces and territories.




Roxanne Vallevand
Cabinet Communications


Clarke LaPrairie
ADM, Finance