Government of Yukon

FOR RELEASE     #09-277
December 4, 2009

Two Employees Receive the 2009 Aboriginal Employees Award of Honour

WHITEHORSE – Two Yukon government employees received the Aboriginal Employees Award of Honour today.
Stephen Reid “Kawsha” in the Department of Education and Alice McCulley in the Department of Environment are the first-ever recipients of the newly established award.

The award presentation took place during the December Aboriginal Employees Forum (AEF) gathering in Whitehorse.

“Over the last three years the Aboriginal Employees Forum has contributed to delivering on commitments in the Corporate Representative Public Service Plan, an obligation of Yukon First Nation Final Agreements,” Minister responsible for the Public Service Commission Patrick Rouble said.

“The AEF steering committee has worked hard to establish the award of honour,” Rouble added. “Today’s presentations pay tribute to the significant accomplishments of Yukon government aboriginal employees who have provided outstanding services to the public service, to their fellow employees or to the Yukon public. I am proud to have presented these awards.”

There were 30 nominations from 10 different departments for the 2009 Aboriginal Employees Award of Honour.

- 30 -

Jay Greenaway
Aboriginal Employees Award of Honour Secretariat