Government of Yukon

FOR RELEASE     #09-032
February 24, 2009

Yukon Principals Recognized for Excellence in Leadership

WHITEHORSE – Two Yukon school principals have been recognized for excellence in leadership through nominations to the Canadian Association of Principals and the Learning Partnership’s Outstanding Principals’ Award.

This prestigious award recognizes Canadian principals who have made a measurable difference in their communities and the lives of their students by helping them receive a quality education.

This year’s recipients are Penny Prysnuk, Principal of Selkirk Elementary School, and the late Brian Shanahan, Principal of Ghûch Tlâ Community School in Carcross. They were nominated by the Association of Yukon School Administrators (AYSA). Mr. Shanahan passed away suddenly last December.

“Penny Prysnuk and the late Brian Shanahan made significant contributions to their schools,” Education Minister Patrick Rouble said. “I commend their dedication to providing an excellent learning environment for all students.”

Prysnuk will accept her award, along with Shanahan’s posthumous award, at a gala awards dinner in Toronto tonight. The evening will honour the achievements of 30 of Canada’s Outstanding Principals for 2009. Prysnuk will also attend a four day Executive Leadership Training Program at the University of Toronto, Joseph L. Rotman School of Management.

These outstanding principals will become members of the National Academy of Principals and over the next year will participate in discussions about leadership issues through an online forum. They will also mentor colleagues in their home schools.

"I am honoured to have been nominated by my colleagues from the Association of Yukon School Administrators,” Prysnuk said. “I would like to thank the Learning Partnership, and the Canadian Association of Principals for being selected as one of Canada's outstanding principals this year. I am looking forward to attending the Executive Leadership Program in Toronto and discussing leadership, the principal, and the forces of change."

More information on Canada’s Outstanding Principal Award is available at


Emily Younker
Cabinet Communications


Ann MacDonald
Communications, Education
Penny Prysnuk, Principal
Selkirk Elementary School